HOME‎ > ‎District‎ > ‎Employment & Personnel‎ > ‎

Reporting Child Abuse

Mandatory Duty to Report All Allegations of Child Abuse or Neglect

  • Under Oklahoma statute 10A O.S. § 1-2-101, Duty to Report Abuse or Neglect of Child Under Eighteen, ‟Every person having reason to believe that a child under the age of eighteen (18) years is a victim of abuse or neglect shall report the matter promptly to the Department of Human Services.ˮ The statute provides for criminal charges if an individual fails to report the suspected abuse or neglect of a minor. If a student tells you that an adult has touched or communicated with them inappropriately, you have a legal obligation to IMMEDIATELY report the allegation to the DHS Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline at 1-800-522-3511. 
  • It is against the law to delay reporting to DHS while you investigate a student’s allegation of inappropriate contact. Every allegation of child abuse or neglect, including any inappropriate touching or communications, must be immediately reported to DHS. Even if you do not believe the student, you must report the allegation to the hotline. Failure to immediately report to DHS may subject you to criminal penalties, and any delay may expose the student or others to further harm. 
  • Any student allegation of abuse or neglect, including inappropriate touching or communications, must be reported to the DHS Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline (1-800-522-3511). Even if you contact local law enforcement about a student’s allegations of abuse, you must also call the Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline to make a report to DHS. 

Annual Professional Development

From Section 307 D. of the Oklahoma School Law Book, 2015 Revision:

At a minimum of once an academic year a program shall be offered which includes the following: 
  1. Training on recognition of child abuse and neglect
  2. Recognition of child sexual abuse
  3. Proper reporting of suspected abuse; and 
  4. Available resources
This comes from statute 70-6-194.

Our district provides updated annual professional development training in Child Abuse Reporting. See the Professional Development webpage for a link to the latest online training course.

Please Help
There are five categories of reportable child abuse:
  • Neglect
  • Abandonment
  • Physical Abuse
  • Sexual Abuse
  • Emotional Abuse
For more information, consult the Child Abuse Reporting training on the Professional Development webpage. The final slides in the training include the latest resource contacts if you have additional questions.