48 Students Named to NCDA District Honor Choirs

posted Dec 22, 2016, 8:28 AM by Granger Meador   [ updated Dec 22, 2016, 9:04 AM ]

Forty-eight students from Bartlesville Public Schools were recently selected for the 2016 Northeastern Choir Directors' Association District Honor Choirs. Twenty-three Bartlesville High School students were chosen for the High School District Honor Choir, which was comprised of 120 students from grades 10-12. Twenty-five BPS students were selected to the 126-member Junior High District Honor Choir (grades 7-9). These included eight from Central Middle School, six from Madison Middle School, and eleven freshmen from Bartlesville High School. The two choirs were represented by thirty-one different schools in the northeast Oklahoma district.

Several hundred area students auditioned in Owasso on October 1st to try to earn a spot in the honor choirs. Hopeful students learned and practiced two difficult vocal pieces of choral music and individually performed a blind audition for judges hidden behind a partition. They were scored on vocal quality, pitch, rhythm, intonation, dynamics, diction, and phrasing. The best singers from the Northeastern District were chosen to comprise each choir. Bartlesville was again well represented at District Honor Choir this year, a testament to its outstanding choral programs and instructors. 

The Bartlesville choirs are led by Marjorie Green, Tamara Walker, and Micheal Stevens at Bartlesville High School, Ariel Ortega at Central Middle School, and Alex Rivera at Madison Middle School. 

"The Northeastern Choral Directors Association district honor is a wonderful opportunity for our students from Bartlesville. We had 48 participate in the choirs this year. This is a wonderful representation of our vocal music program and another indication that the arts in our community are truly supported and thriving."
-Margie Green, BPSD Vocal Music Director

Special recognition was given to students named to the Junior High or High School District Honor Choir for all three years. Bartlesville students receiving junior high 3-year medals were Josh Chuan, Sabrina Chuan, Edwin Ding, and Greer Thompson. Katie McCollum was the lone Bruin awarded the 3-year High School District Honor Choir medal.

District Honor Choir members participated in two days of rehearsals and seminars in Tulsa, capped off with a concert on November 8th at First Baptist Church of Tulsa. The junior high clinician was Angela McKenna of Edmond. McKenna received her Bachelor of Arts Degree in Music Education from the University of Central Oklahoma and has been a middle school choir director for 20 years. She is National Board Certified and is a published author for Hal Leonard Publications. The high school clinician was Dr. Mark Lucas. Lucas is Associate Professor of Music and Director of Choral Activities at Bethany College in Lindsborg, Kansas. He is also Director of the internationally acclaimed Bethany Oratorio Society and the Messiah Festival of the Arts. Dr. Lucas earned a degree in Music Education from Bethany College, as well as a Masters of Music in Choral Conducting and Ph.D. in Choral Music Education from the University of Oklahoma.

Bartlesville High School students named to the Northeastern District High School Honor Choir were Harald Borg, Melody Brown-Clark, Brigette Bulleigh, Lane Cabler, Matthew Coordsen, William Doenges, Nathan Fredenburg, Spencer Hayes, Josh Higgs, William Kampa, Garrett Lee, Brooke Marshall, Carson Mathes, Katie McCollum, Tyler Myers, Emily Nordhues, William Pattison, Hanna Phelps, Jonathan Rathbone, and Sydney Walker. Selected as alternates were Ben Ames, Hollis Gilbert, and Logan Souter.

Bartlesville students selected to the Junior High Honor Choir included: from Central Middle School, Lucas Ashby, Brandon Bulleigh, Tobias Henton, Allison Hollis, Katherine Lawson, John Steward, Brynna Townsend, and Elijah Winter

From Madison Middle School, Logan Brewer, Colton Green, Sloan Hewitt, Emma McEuin, Carlie Pool, and Sophie Walker. 

From Bartlesville High School, Josh Chuan, Sabrina Chuan, Edwin Ding, Ariel Jimison, Brienne Lavers, Allison Lee, Treabien Liston, Olivia Park, Kaimron Schoonover, and Greer Thompson. Jessica Dunaway was selected as an alternate.
BPSD students named to 2016 NCDA District Honor Choirs
The Bartlesville Public Schools students pictured above were selected for the 2016 Northeastern District Choir Directors' Association District Honor Choirs

Sabrina Chuan, Josh Chuan, Edwin Ding, Greer Thompson are 3-year Junior High District Honor Choir medalists
Sabrina Chuan, Josh Chuan, Edwin Ding, Greer Thompson are 3-year Junior High District Honor Choir medalists

Bartlesville High School's Katie McCollum
BHS senior Katie McCollum was honored as a High School District Honor Choir 3-year medalist