Bartlesville's STEM program recognized; students and staff travel and train

posted Dec 7, 2017, 12:18 PM by Granger Meador   [ updated Dec 7, 2017, 4:20 PM ]

Enrollment in Bartlesville's specialized STEM programs has exploded in recent years. New Innovation Labs at each secondary school funded by a $1.7 million grant from Phillips 66 plus federal training funds for staff has allowed Bartlesville High School to offer seven different specialized courses that collectively serve 157 students. New Innovation Labs and the retraining of staff has more than doubled the enrollment in the middle school Gateway to Technology courses to almost 1,300 students. Plus this school year over 2,600 students in each of the district's kindergarten through fifth grade classes will be doing computer science modules funded by an $85,000 Challenge Grant from the Bartlesville Public Schools Foundation and a $35,000 grant from ConocoPhillips.


Most of the new STEM courses and modules implemented in the Bartlesville Public Schools since 2015 are part of the national Project Lead the Way (PLTW) program. In October the PLTW Summit 2017 in Orlando, Florida offered 250 professional development opportunities for teachers, administrators, and counselors. Nine district staff members participated.

Oklahoma Delegation at PLTW Summit 2017
District staff members Shannon McKinney, Rachel Hough, Lolly Williams, Jeremy Hanks, Dr. Stephanie Curtis, LaDonna Chancellor, Angie Linthacum, Keri Gardner, Leslie Sexson, and Tri County Tech's Kerensa Kester were part of the Oklahoma delegation at PLTW Summit 2017 in Orlando, FL in October

Shannon McKinney, the district's STEM 6-12 Department Chair, said, "There were opportunities to learn more about PLTW as well as networking with industry partners to inspire our teachers and students."

Help our great STEM programs continue to grow!

Blair Ellis
Community members are urged to contact Blair Ellis, the executive director of the Bartlesville Public Schools Foundation, for more information on how they can support the STEM Initiative. 

Her email is and her phone is (918) 336-8600 ext. 3523. Supporters can also directly donate at the Foundation’s website,, by clicking on Donate and then the “Elementary STEM initiative” link.


In November, the Central and Madison students who are officers of the schools' Technology Student Association attended the Fall Leadership Conference in Midwest City. The students learned leadership skills that will help them guide their chapters.

Madison TSA Officers
Madison Middle School Technology Student Association officers Katy Lauritsen, Madeline Lewis, Lindsey Kubsch, Chanah Shpeizer, Ashley Healy, and Sadie Stose are advised by STEM teachers Rachel Hough and Shannon McKinney

Central TSA Officers for 2017-18
Central Middle School's Technology Student Association officers Jack Auschwitz, Cooper Johnson, Megan Sanders, Jaxon Hand, and Caisen Miser-Fees are advised by STEM teachers Lolly Williams and Darin Messerli