Bartlesville students selected for the 2019 Northeastern Choir Directors’ Association District Honor Choirs

posted Nov 26, 2019, 7:51 AM by Laci Harris   [ updated Nov 26, 2019, 7:55 AM ]
Forty students from Bartlesville High School auditioned on October 5 for the 2019 Northeastern Choir Directors’ Association District Honor Choirs. These students dedicate hours of extra practice to prepare chosen pieces in the fall. Students then perform individually in a blind audition for judges hidden behind a partition, and they are scored on vocal quality, pitch, rhythm, intonation, dynamics, diction, and phrasing. Only the best singers from the Northeastern District are chosen to comprise each choir.

Seven BHS freshmen were selected for the Junior High Honor Choir: Bella Cavaceci, Jecelle Dobson, Owen King, Lucas Nash, William Pendergraft, Samarah Robinson, and Joyce Yang. 

Also at BHS, 21 students in 10-12 grades were also selected for the High School Honor Choir: Brandon Bulleigh, Gloria Castillo, Lindsay Demania, Madison Heckelsberg, Sloan Hewitt, Dillon Hopkins, Trent Horinek, Ariel Jimison, Morgan Johnson, Allison Lee, Madeline Lewis, TaNeca Moore, Julianna Ortiz, Olivia Park, Maggie Parrett, Carlie Pool, Brynna Townsend, Logan Vaclaw, Nathaniel Vilardo, Sophie Walker, and Eli Winters.  

For the junior high choir, three students were selected from Central Middle School: Isabella Carpenter, Natalie Hart, and Alex Ortiz. Noah Argo was selected from Madison Middle School.

After two intense days of preparation, the choirs joined with students from 21 other school systems to perform on November 5th at the First Baptist Church in Tulsa. The junior high choir was led by Dr. Casey Gerber from the University of Oklahoma, accompanied by Linda Pollock. The high school choir was led by Jeff Elkins, minister of worship at First Baptist Church, Tulsa and accompanied by Bartlesville’s own Alex Rivera.

Bartlesville has a long-standing tradition of excellence in our vocal music program. The Bartlesville choirs are led by Marjorie Green, Tamara Walker, and Alex Rivera at Bartlesville High School, Sarah Long at Central Middle School, and Micheal Stevens at Madison Middle School. Congratulations to these students and their directors.