Bruin Brigade hopes to win sweepstakes; band members honored

posted Dec 18, 2017, 1:08 PM by Granger Meador   [ updated Dec 18, 2017, 1:10 PM ]
For the twelfth consecutive year, the Bartlesville High School Bruin Brigade earned a superior rating from the Oklahoma Secondary School Activities Association. This year’s regional contest was held October 25 in Tahlequah. 

If the band goes on to earn superior rankings in concert band and music sight reading at spring contests, it will secure its third consecutive sweepstakes award.

Band director Alex Claussen told the Examiner-Enterprise, “We’ve earned a sweepstakes award for the past two years in a row and we’ve earned six in the last nine years, so we’re pretty proud of that.”

Bruin Brigade

Several members of the band were selected in competitive auditions in November for positions in the Northeast Oklahoma Band Directors Association All-District Honor Band. Five of them went on to be named to the All-State Band after auditions in December.
Students Qualifying for National Band Directors' Association 
All-District Honor Band

NBDA Members
  • Olivia Holder, senior, flute
  • Abbie Claussen, sophomore, bassoon
  • Marisol Aranda, senior, B-flat clarinet
  • Jacey Dyck, junior, alto sax
  • Gary Hoover, senior, trumpet
  • Luke Feeler, junior; trombone
  • Jonathan Rathbone, senior; trombone
  • Jesse Tavernia, senior; trombone
  • Nathan Fredenburg, junior; tuba
  • Sarah Neal, sophomore; percussion
  • William Shiflet, sophomore; percussion
  • Anela Takahashi, sophomore; percussion
  • William Pattison, junior; percussion
  • Connor Burns, senior; percussion
 All-State Band Members

All-State Band Members
  • Connor Burns, senior, percussion
  • William Pattison, junior, percussion
  • Gary Hoover, senior, trumpet
  • Jonathan Rathbone, senior, trombone
  • Nathan Fredenburg, junior, tuba