Englehart named Oklahoma High School Swim Coach of the Year

posted Jul 29, 2017, 6:18 PM by Granger Meador   [ updated Jul 30, 2017, 6:32 AM ]
Bruins swim coach Chad Englehart was selected to coach the 2017 Oklahoma All-State swim team for the All-State meet during the last week in July. At the meet he was named the Oklahoma High School Swim Coach of the Year. Under his leadership, the Lady Bruin swimmers have won three consecutive state championships.

Coach Englehart has a long history of achievement in the sport. He was named the 2015 Regional Girls High School Swimming Coach of the Year, winning in the Southwest Section covering Oklahoma, Colorado, Texas, Arkansas and New Mexico. In 2015 he was inducted into the Indiana High School Swimming & Diving Hall of Fame based on his teams' performances at Homestead High School from 1995 to 2014. He was named the Indiana Local Swimming Committee Coach of the Year in 2002 and 2009, and the Indiana High School Athletic Association's 2004 Coach of the Year. 

Coach Englehart's personal achievements in the water include being the Illinois State Champion in the 200-meter breaststroke and holding the Indiana state meet record on the 100-meter breaststroke from 1991-2001. He won Big 8 Conference championship titles in 1992 and 1993 in the 100-meter breaststroke while swimming for the University of Kansas. He excelled academically as well, being named a 5-time Jayhawk Scholar and member of the Big 8 Academic All-Conference team. He earned a BSE in Chemistry and Physical Science at KU.

Coach Englehart says...

Chad Englehart
Coaches are only as successful as their athletes. We inspire, teach, push, plead and encourage but we never swim a race. The kids' successes are what we are judged on. I have been blessed to work with some tremendous athletes and their efforts were honored...
I just wanted to say thank you to all those that have been a part of our team. Way to go Bruins!

Five Phillips 66 Splash Club swimmers have received National All-American honors as members of the Bartlesville Bruin swim team:

Relay Team Winners
Medley relay of Delaney Shipman, Kate Steward, Greta Olsen, and Sydney Perry

Keesling and Steward
  • Aaron Keesling, 100-meter breaststroke 
  • Kate Steward, 200-meter individual medley and 100-meter breaststroke