Hoover's Amanda Daniels named Teacher of the Year

posted Feb 27, 2020, 10:31 AM by Granger Meador   [ updated Feb 28, 2020, 1:21 PM ]

Outstanding educators and a community foundation were acclaimed at a celebration on February 25, 2020, which was organized by the Bartlesville Public Schools Foundation and the district PIC Committee.

2020 District Teacher of the Year

Amanda Daniels
Amanda Daniels
, who teaches 3rd Grade students at Hoover Elementary School, was named the Bartlesville Public Schools 2020 Teacher of the Year on February 25, 2020. Site teachers nominate their peers with five or more completed years of teaching experience and then select their site Teacher of the Year. A committee selects the District Teacher of the Year based on a written application and interview. The district honoree goes on to compete in the state Teacher of the Year program.

At the event, each of the nine candidates for Bartlesville Public School District's 2020 Teacher of the Year honor was introduced by a current or former student. As the district honoree, Ms. Daniels received a $2,500 cash award from the Schmoldt Foundation for Education. She also received two free round-trip airline tickets via the 12th Annual Chuck Spears Memorial Teacher of the Year Travel Award, presented by Gary Spears of Spears Travel.

2020 District Rising Star Teacher

Alana Murphy
Alana Murphy, a Special Education teacher at Ranch Heights Elementary School, was named the district's Rising Star Teacher for 2020. That award recognizes a teacher with one to four completed years of experience who has exemplified excellence in their entry years of teaching.  The Schmoldt Foundation for Education awarded $100 to a Rising Star Teacher from each school site. As the district honoree, Ms. Murphy received $500 from the Schmoldt Foundation.

2020 Kurt Schmoldt Teacher Appreciation Award

Karla Cunningham

Other honors at Tuesday evening’s ceremony included the presentation of the 2020 Kurt Schmoldt Teacher Appreciation Award to Karla Cunningham, the Family and Student Support Coordinator at Jane Phillips Elementary School. The Kurt Schmoldt Award recognizes a teacher who has made a significant difference in the lives of students. Hans Karl Schmoldt initiated the award 25 years ago in memory of his brother, Kurt. Ms. Cunningham was selected for this year's award by a committee that considered nominations for over 40 district teachers from students, parents, co-workers, and others. She received a $1,000 cash award from the Hans Karl Schmoldt family.

Rookies of the Year

Other young teachers who were recognized included Stacy Dennis, the Art Teacher at Ranch Heights Elementary, as the Elementary Rookie Teacher of the Year and Matthew Hildebrand, the Band Teacher at Central Middle School, as the Secondary Rookie Teacher of the Year.

BEA Friend of Education Award

Bartlesville Education Association President Heather Davis presented that teacher organization's Friend of Education Award to the Play for Burk Foundation. Lori Ahlert accepted the award on behalf of the Foundation.

Service Pins

The evening also included recognition of teachers with 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, and 40 years of service, with members of the BHS Jazz Choir offering fun song snippets for each group. Joyce Nickels of Ranch Heights Elementary School was highlighted for her 35 years of service, as was Mitsuye Conover of Bartlesville High School for her 40 years of service.

Appreciation goes to Michael Wray for the extensive collection of photographs from the event which he shared via Facebook.

The site 2020 Teachers of the Year were recognized:

The site 2020 Rising Star Teachers were also recognized:
  • Zandra Sanders, Bartlesville High School
  • Ty Huie, Central Middle School
  • Daniel Wren, Madison Middle School
  • Jessica Henderson, Hoover Elementary School
  • Taylor Beck, Jane Phillips Elementary School
  • Alana Murphy, Ranch Heights Elementary School
  • Naudia Jackson, Richard Kane Elementary School
  • Tara Dicks, Wayside Elementary School
  • Alaina Taylor, Wilson Elementary School

The district would like to thank the numerous people and organizations that helped make the evening special:

Thanks also go to the educators on the Professional Improvement Committee who helped coordinate the event:
  • Lea Burke, Hoover

  • Sherry Langham, Jane Phillips

  • Vanessa Wallace, Richard Kane

  • Judy Cells, Ranch Heights

  • Therese Rawlinson & Amy Williams, Wayside

  • Angela Holcomb, Woodrow Wilson

  • Carol Porter, Central

  • Tina Ewing, Madison

  • Julie Giovannetti & Gretchen Watson, BHS

  • Rhonda Wilcox, Counselor Rep.

  • René Burns, Elementary Principal Rep.

  • Morgan Axsom, Middle School Principal Rep.

  • Marsha Fouts, Secondary Principal Rep.

  • Kelli Bryant, Kirby Lowry, Dianne Martinez, Jason Langham, Stephanie Curtis, and Granger Meador - Education Service Center