Kristin Flick is 2017 District Teacher of the Year; Other Honors Announced

posted Mar 28, 2017, 7:47 PM by Granger Meador   [ updated Apr 1, 2017, 8:54 AM ]
Kristin Flick, who teaches second grade at Wayside Elementary School, was named the Bartlesville Public Schools Teacher of the Year on March 28, 2017. A number of other outstanding educators were also honored, with the following awards highlighting the evening ceremonies:
  • 2017 District Teacher of the Year: Kristin Flick, Second Grade Teacher, Wayside Elementary School
  • 2017 Kurt Schmoldt Teacher Appreciation Award: Terry Reynolds, Physical Education Teacher, Madison Middle School
  • 2017 Rising Star Teacher: Shawn Hemminger, Special Education Teacher, Central Middle School
  • Carolyn Findlay-Standridge Memorial Award for Special Education: Nancy Nagele, Richard Kane Elementary
  • 2017 Elementary Rookie Teacher of the Year: Cherisa Neill, Title I Teacher, Hoover Elementary School
  • 2017 Secondary Rookie Teacher of the Year: Jacob Good, Sixth Grade Physical Science, Central Middle School
In addition, the 2017 Bartlesville Education Association Friend of Education Award went to the Washington County School Supply Drive and its Pack the Backpacks program.

Kristin Flick, left, is recognized as the 2017 Bartlesville Teacher of the Year by Vanessa Wallace of the Professional Improvement Committee
In the photo, Kristin Flick, left, is joined onstage by Professional Improvement Committee member Vanessa Wallace.

Ms. Flick received a $2,500 cash award from the Schmoldt Family Foundation for Education, presented by Gretchen Schmoldt Wettlin. 

Mrs. Flick will also receive the Ninth Annual Chuck Spears Memorial Teacher of the Year Travel Award sponsored by the Spears Family and Spears Travel.

Cy Ridgon introduces Kristin Flick
The audience enjoyed a performance of the song, "You Were Loved" by the 2016 District Teacher of the Year, high school choir teacher Margie Green.

Each of the ten candidates for BPSD's 2017 Teacher of the Year honor was introduced by one of their current or former students. Mrs. Flick was introduced by Cy Ridgon, one of her second grade students at Wayside Elementary School.

Terry Reynolds
Tuesday evening’s ceremony also featured the awarding of other distinguished honors. Madison Middle School Physical Education teacher Terry Reynolds received the 2017 Kurt Schmoldt Teacher Appreciation Award. That annual award recognizes a teacher who has made a significant difference in the life of a student. Hans Schmoldt, Jr. created the award in memory of his brother, Kurt. As this year's winner, Mr. Reynolds received a certificate of recognition and a $1,000 cash award from the Hans Schmoldt, Jr. family.

Shawn Hemminger, a special education teacher at Central Middle School, was named the district's Rising Star Teacher for 2017. That award recognizes a teacher new to the profession who has exemplified excellence in their entry years of teaching. 
Shawn Hemminger

The Schmoldt Family Foundation for Education awarded $100 to each of the Rising Star Teachers from each school site. As the district honoree, Mr. Hemminger received $500 from the Foundation.

Other young teachers who were honored included Cherisa Neill of Hoover Elementary as the Elementary Rookie Teacher of the Year and Jacob Good, who teaches Sixth Grade Physical Science at Central Middle School, as the Secondary Rookie Teacher of the Year.

Cherisa Neill
A new award at the event was a memorial award for Special Education in memory of Carolyn Findlay-Standridge, who taught in that area at Jane Phillips Elementary and passed away unexpectedly in February 2017. Her close friends and family created the award and awarded $900 to Nancy Nagele, a Special Education teacher at Richard Kane Elementary School. The award was presented by Carolyn's husband, Rick Standridge.

Melinda Wesneski
Also honored during the ceremonies was the Washington County School Supply Drive and its Pack the Backpacks program. The Bartlesville Education Association presented the award to Melinda Wesneski, the President of the Board for that program which has grown to providing about 2,500 backpacks of school supplies to area children each August.

The district would like to thank the numerous people and organizations that helped make the evening special:
  • Hans and Jimmie Schmoldt, Sr.
  • Hans and Kathy Winters Schmoldt, Jr.
  • Gretchen Schmoldt Wettlin
  • Schmoldt Foundation for Education
  • Bartlesville Community Foundation
  • Arvest Bank
  • Oakley Chevrolet-Buick
  • The Spears Family and Spears Family Travel
  • United Linen and Uniform Services
  • Woody Stalnaker and Tulsa School Pictures
  • Seth Weimer, Fine Arts Center Manager
  • Jayme Lowe and Staff, Bartlesville High School
Thanks also go to the educators on the Professional Improvement Committee:
  • Lea Burke, Hoover
  • Cherisa Neill, Hoover
  • Kendra Rakes, Jane Phillips
  • Sheli Murphy, Richard Kane
  • Vanessa Wallace, Richard Kane
  • Judy Allen, Ranch Heights
  • Therese Rawlinson, Wayside
  • Lindsay Sedersten, Wayside
  • Angela Holcomb, Woodrow Wilson
  • Carol Porter, Central
  • Jennifer Cubbage, Madison
  • Amy Hamilton, BHS
  • Tamara Walker, BHS
  • Chanda Myers, Elementary Principal Rep.
  • Rene Burns, Elementary Principal Rep.
  • Jennifer Stahl, Secondary Principal Rep.
  • Jane Sears, Counselor Rep.