TOY Carmichael

Kelsey Carmichael was named the 2024 Bartlesville Public Schools Teacher of the Year at the baseball-themed Bruins of the Year celebration at Doenges Stadium on April 18, 2024. She teaches Kindergarten students at Ranch Heights Elementary School, and received a monetary award from the Schmoldt Family and Southwest Airlines tickets courtesy of Spears Travel.

The event celebrated both certified and classified staff from each school, with each Teacher of the Year introduced by a current or former student.

Maria Olga Herrera, a translator at Jane Phillips Elementary, was named the Classified Person of the Year.

Olga Herrera

Celeste Clement, who teaches fifth grade at Richard Kane Elementary, was named the district's 2024 Rising Star Teacher, an award for teachers with one to four years of experience.

Celeste Clement

Kameron Meyer, a Special Education teacher at Wayside Elementary School, was the Elementary Rookie Teacher of the Year.

Kameron Meyer

Grace Buoy, who teaches mathematics at Central Middle School, was named the Secondary Rookie of the Year.

Grace Buoy

Cat Hollenbeck, who teaches Vision Quest at Central Middle School, was named the "Fan Favorite" at the event, which was held on Rigdon Field at the Bill Doenges Memorial Stadium. That recognition includes a breakfast from Chick-fil-A for the Central staff.

Cat Hollenbeck

Garrett Giles, who teaches broadcasting and keyboarding at Madison Middle School, received the 2024 Kurt Schmoldt Teacher Appreciation Award.

Garrett Giles

Michelle Young was named the Substitute Teacher of the Year.

Michelle Young

The Bartlesville Education Association presented its Friend of Education Award to Martin Garber and Bartlesville Education Promise. Martin accepted the award along with Earl Sears, LaDonna Chancellor, George Halkiades, and Stephen Colaw, flanked by Superintendent Chuck McCauley, Heather Davis of the BEA, and Alana Murphy of the BEA.

BEA Friend of Education Award

Service pins were awarded for employees with 5-50 years of district service. Rita Coale of Jane Phillips Elementary received a standing ovation for her 50 years of service.

Rita Coale

Bruin TV live streamed the event, and a recording is available.

The Bartlesville Public Schools Foundation (BPSF) and the school district's Professional Improvement Committee sponsored the event. The BPSF shared many event photos on its Facebook page and thanked presenting sponsors Arvest Bank and Patriot Chevrolet; Grand Slam Sponsors ConocoPhillips, Manhattan Construction Company, and Jim Moore State Farm; All-Star Sponsors Musselman Abstract Company, Diversified System Resources, Public Service Company of Oklahoma, Gateway Bank, Truity Credit Union, and Mark Unruh; Home Run Sponsors Richard Kane PTO, Wayside PSA, and Skyway Honda; and Trading Card Sponsor First Investment Corporation.

The BPSF and district also appreciate The Schmoldt Foundation for Education, Spears Travel, Chick-fil-A Bartlesville, the Wilson Elementary Select Choir, Wade Kester, Michael Colaw (announcer), Maria Gus (emcee), Bartlesville High School Broadcasting, Gentry Turner (for event prep), Trey Stumpff (sound), 3 Bulls UPcycling (Fan Favorite Award designer), Homeland (water), Truity Credit Union Print Shop, and Michael Wray (who designed the program and photographed the event).

Businesses donating school staff gift cards for the event included Arvest Bank, Boomarang Diner, Braums, Chili's, Chick-fil-A, CTME Saddoris, El Maguey, Freddy's, HTeaO, Honey's Flowers, IQ Car Wash, Jared's Frozen Custard, Jimmy's Egg, McAlister's Deli, Moxie on Second, Nowata Road Liquor, Okie Express Auto Wash, Pop's Daylight Donuts, Prices Meat Market, Red Apple Bowling, Sal's Daylight Donuts, Simple Simon's, Sonic, Szechuan, Tidal Wave Auto Spa, Tropical Smoothie, and Whataburger.