Kurt Schmoldt Nominations

The Kurt Schmoldt Teacher Appreciation Award is a cash award presented annually to a full-time Bartlesville Public School District teacher, coach or counselor who exemplifies the dynamic qualities of an outstanding educator and citizen. This award is not for the “best teacher,” but for one who exemplifies the finest in the profession.

Teachers honored with a 2021 Kurt Schmoldt Teacher Appreciation Award nomination should:

  • Communicate effectively with students, parents, administrators and other teachers. 
  • Engage students in creative and imaginative learning activities.
  • Inspire students to do their best and try harder when they fail.
  • Reach-out to students of all backgrounds and abilities to help them to succeed. 

Who Can Make a Nomination?

Anyone whose life has been touched by a Bartlesville teacher, coach or counselor:

  • Current or former students
  • Parents
  • Community members
  • Fellow teachers
  • School administrators 

Why Make a Nomination?

  • To honor a teacher who helped you succeed.
  • To thank a counselor for helping you learn how to learn.
  • To show appreciation to a coach for helping your child gain self-confidence.
  • To thank a peer for taking time to mentor and help you grow.
  • To recognize a teacher for their caring, positive attitude. 

Nomination Forms are due by March 1, 2021 via this ONLINE FORM

Kurt Schmoldt Teacher Appreciation Awards
YearNameSite at time of award
2020Karla CunninghamJane Phillips Elementary School
2019Leslie SexsonBartlesville High School
2018Erinn RakesJane Phillips Elementary School
2017Terry ReynoldsMadison Middle School
2016Rick JohnsonMadison Middle School
2015Spence RigdonBartlesville High School
2014Lesleigh LynesBartlesville Mid-High School
2013Terri BryanBartlesville Mid-High School
2012Laurie MarshallWoodrow Wilson Elementary School
2011Rita CoaleJane Phillips Elementary School
2010Marsha FoutsBartlesville Mid-High School
2009Randy HentonRanch Heights Elementary School
2008Susan MuellerBartlesville High School
2008Dedra LandonRichard Kane Elementary School
2007Darin MesserliCentral Middle School
2006Cheryl ShoemakeMadison Middle School
2005Cindy DronykBartlesville High School
2004Frances CrawfordRanch Heights Elementary School
2004Betty HendersonBartlesville High School
2003Tammy ShepherdRichard Kane Elementary School
2002Ken DolezalEducation Service Center
2001Carol GreenRichard Kane Elementary School
2000Lea BurkeOak Park Elementary School
1999Jeff CauthenJane Phillips Elementary School
1998Marilyn BlackburnRanch Heights Elementary School
1997Brian JennerBartlesville Mid-High School
1996Granger MeadorBartlesville High School
Kurt Schmoldt Award initiated in 1996